Baby Steps

This week I received the proof for my book. I felt a bit discouraged when I noticed all of my mistakes. I have a lot of editing to do. It was overwhelming knowing I’d have to go through each individual page with a fine tooth comb. Searching for the major as well as minute mistakes. My limited amount of knowledge led me to believe that my proof would come out looking like a book. I was also in the process of building this website which is coming and going as it pleases. The web address keeps changing. This is frustrating because its limiting the amount of traffick to my site. Okay, I got side tracked but I remember when I first sat down to write my book. I didn’t think I would ever finish. I finally had to shut off the muse after many reviewers were complaining about the length of my first book. Once I finished I felt a sense of accomplishment. It took me a significant amount of time to finish. The days when I felt overwhelmed like today I took baby steps. Many nigthts I wrote when I didn’t feel like it even if just a paragraph. It didn’t take long for those paragraphs to add up to pages.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Baby Steps

  1. I saw your post on IndieAuthorsUnite so I came over to say hi! As one who researched all the avenues of publishing over the last 20 years, I know how much there is to learn and how discouraging and frustrating it can be. I have seen some recommendations for a program called White Smoke to help with proofing and editing. I think it costs around $70, cheaper than one editor’s fee, I should think, for a book the size of yours. You might want to check that out. I also was the one who suggested if you use Word for your docs you might want to reset your pages to “Statement” size (8.5 by 5.5) with .75 margins. This size will work with any print setup. I hope you get your book fixed up and do well!

Leave a Reply

